book review

Book Review: The First Mistake by Sandie Jones

This book was sent to me by the publisher in exchange for my honest review.

Title: The First Mistake

Author: Sandie Jones

Published: June 11, 2019

Publisher: Minotaur Books

Synopsis:

The First Mistake is the stunning second novel from The Other Woman author Sandie Jones, who delivers twist after heart-stopping twist, in this addictively readable domestic suspense about a wife, her husband, and her best friend. Perfect for fans of Friend Request and The Girlfriend. For Alice, life has never been better. After the death of her first husband, she has remarried, with a successful business, two children and a beautiful house. In Beth, she also has the best friend she has always wanted. A friend without judgement, she is the most trustworthy and loyal person Alice knows. So when Alice begins to suspect her husband Nathan is having an affair, Alice turns to Beth to help her find the truth. She can trust Beth, can’t she . . .?

Review: I had seen a few things about this book when I first heard about it and had definitely heard some amazing things about the authors first novel, The Other Woman. I was ecstatic to receive a copy of The First Mistake from Minotaur Books because I was definitely not disappointed.

Firstly, the entire time I was reading this novel, I felt like I was being directed in one way only to continue being surprised by everything that kept unfolding. The main character, Alice, goes through some major transformations and developments as she continues learning new things about the life she though she was living.

Most characters in this story are simply there to provide connections and relationships that should exist to help support the main characters of Alice (the wife), Nathan (the husband) and Beth (the best friend). As their stories all start to unravel, you really experience most of the story through Alice and also through Beth.

Sandie Jones does a great job weaving a detailed and thoughtful plot sequence that slowly unravels and plays to everyone’s biggest fears in the best way possible.

I am giving this book a 5 star review because the author kept me invested in the main character not just through interest in her story but also because I felt compelled to want to help her find the answers. All characters played a necessary role and the story was highly engaging.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The First Mistake by Sandie Jones

  1. The First Mistake By Sandie Jones
    This is a must read. Exciting from beginning to end.
    You will have a hard time putting this book down..
    I will definitely be reading more books by Sandie Jones.
    I got the book free from the publisher for my honest opinion.
    Book will be available to purchase on June 6. A must buy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.