Book Review: Supernova by Julie Hall

Affiliate links can be found within this post. If you need additional information, please see the disclaimer.

An ARC copy of this book was provided to me in exchange for my honest review. All thoughts are my own.

Rating: 5 out of 5.

I have been waiting for this one for SO long and I read this one very quickly – once I finally was able to get to it! Julie Hall amazed us all with the Fallen Legacies series (Books 1-3) and introduced us to a full cast of amazing angel born Nephilim, angels, fallen and forsaken beings. One such amazing Nephilim we met was Supernova and this book really gave her a platform to shine in all her glory.

For fans of Fantasy and Young Adult stories that feature excitement, adventure and love – this is one you don’t want to miss. I really recommend reading the first three books to understand the backstory because there is a lot that happens in the first three books that you’re going to want to know before diving into this one.

As an overview, Nova is a warrior half-angel that recently turned 18 and is waiting to come into her adult powers but it’s a little behind schedule. Her and her cast of friends defeated a war with the fallen and forsaken that ripped a portal into the mortal realm and attempted to take everything over. The evil leader, Thorne (another half-angel), has been imprisoned and everyone is settling into the new setting their world has after the war.

As Nova is sent from Europe back to the states to continue her academy training, she’s aboard a plane with Thorne as he’s being transported somewhere as well. But when their plane goes down and the two of them are stranded together, a lot of new realities come to light. That’s all I really want to give you all on this one because there is the possibility of giving too much away.

The depth of emotion in this one had me sniffling and dropping a few tears throughout the entire thing. Much as the first three books did to me as well. It’s hard when Hall does such a fantastic job of really pulling you into their lives as if you’re there with them. You feel all the emotions these characters are facing and Nova’s personality is one that is easy to adore. Thorne is also an absolute treat to get to know better. While you learn a lot about his true character in the end of Book 3, Supernova does him justice in a way I never thought was possible.

A love story that transcends time; an adventure that showcases deception and turmoil within their own trusted organizations; friendships that bond people together; and a setting that is easy to lose yourself in.


GET IT HERE:

Some lines are meant to be crossed.

Three months ago monsters breached the barrier between realms and poured from the spirit world into the mortal one, intent on enslaving humankind and angel-born alike.

The world is a different place and all I want is to manifest my angelic powers and fight beside the other Nephilim warriors, but when I find myself stranded on a deserted island with Thorne—public enemy number one—I may not live long enough to see that happen.

Even though Thorne helped us defeat his evil mother and stop the Fallen from spreading beyond London, he’s still a ruthless killer who almost brought upon the apocalypse. He may be the most attractive guy I’ve ever met, but he’s definitely the last one I should ever fall for.

I always thought there were lines I would never cross, but I’m learning just how wrong I was.

Supernova is a standalone enemies-to-lovers, forced proximity, redemptive love story told from Nova’s point-of-view that is a continuation of the Fallen Legacies world intended to be read after Unleashing Fire.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Julie Hall is a USA Today bestselling, multiple award-winning author.

She writes YA paranormal / fantasy novels, loves doodles, and drinks Red Bull, but not necessarily in that order. Julie’s daughter says that her super power is sleeping all day and writing all night… and well, she wouldn’t be wrong.

Julie currently lives in Colorado with her four favorite people – her husband, daughter, and two fur babies.

Connect with Julie here, or on social media.  


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: